Thread has been deleted
Last comment
Project Idea for IT/Computer Science Students
United States clannadqs 
Aye guys. I know most of you won't care about this, but I wanted to help those out that might have wanted to learn about IT/Computer Science with a side project. I have a Computer Science degree and have been working the field for around two years now. A problem I see with school is the fact that they normally do teach things decently, but it's tough to relate it to anything real world or just downright unenjoyable. A buddy of mine randomly mentioned that he wanted to casually play some Minecraft whenever we drank or were tired of CS/OW/etc. He started setting up the server on his own desktop and an idea hit me. What if I started teaching him about Amazon Web Services (Amazon's cloud services) while using a Minecraft server as the focal point. Steps/Learning process: These could be done quickly or taken slowly. I'm talking weeks in between each one. The end goal is to slowly make your Minecraft server more reliable, available, secure, and functional while learning along the way. 1. Create an AWS account and dig around a little. This will let a student, or someone who wants to learn, to get a better understanding of cloud services and AWS in particular which is dominant. Start learning about Linux a little during this stage as well. 2. After learning a little about AWS you should know what an EC2 instance is (it's a Virtual Machine). Spin up a standard AWS linux instance and follow raibledesigns.com/rd/entry/setting_up_a_.. This will let you learn a little more about Linux. It will also let you learn about how to connect to remote servers, firewalls, ports, etc. 3. After you get your server up and running this is the time to start slowly adding to it to make it better. Start looking into S3 (simple storage service on AWS. Allows infinite storage and is highly reliable/available meaning you will never lose your data in it even if Amazon has an entire server ware